La La Land: Is it worth your time?

When I think of musicals I think of stars like Fred Astaire and Ginger Rogers. Two dancers so suited for each other that their moves have a perfect fluidity. Musicals for me are built on sweeping scores and ballads that project so much emotion that I know I need to see them again. Musicals to me are also built on a fantastic script with dialogue that moves me. So when I walk into La La Land, I wonder if I will get what I expect. And to some degree, I did. The best thing about this film is the undeniable chemistry between Ryan Gosling and Emma Stone. (See Crazy.Stupid.Love. if you haven’t already. Trust me šŸ˜Š) Match that chemistry with a balanced plot and snappy dialogue that feels nostalgic and modern at the same time and we’re doing good! But their dancing and singing were simply adequate. You’re not getting Beyonce in Dreamgirls or Gene Kelly in Singing In The Rain here. The songs were underwhelming for me. The storyline was so intertwined with them, that I felt compelled to paid attention but this Filmstress does not need to download the soundtrack! I was more moved by Let It Go from Frozen the first time I heard it than any of the songs in this film. So does this modern day musical deserve your time? If you love musicals, check it out. I enjoyed it but when I’m in the mood for a musical, I’ll pull out Sound of Music instead.

La La Land: 3 1/2 out of 5 Twizzlers

2 thoughts on “La La Land: Is it worth your time?

Leave a Reply

